Rubber mulch …..

doesn’t pass the bounce test.

I am very much a minimalist when it comes to garden mulches. I put down a thin layer of pine chunk nuggets when I plant to hold a bit of moisture and to inhibit weeds until the plants are established.

Then, I forget about it. If the mulch floats away, blows away, decays, or is stolen, I don’t care. Some plants will get an occasional topdress of leaf compost, but everything’s so jammed together that there’s little room or need to add more mulch.

I don’t need, or care about, a mulch that will last forever, so I had little interest when rubber mulch (recycled from tires) was introduced. I pronounced it too expensive and only gave it a second thought with infrequent customer inquiries.

I’ve heard rumblings about chemical leaching or other negatives, but a look at The Garden Professors blog ends further discussion in my mind.

2 thoughts on “Rubber mulch …..

  1. What is the name of the plant or bush that has elongated leaves that have turned red in the autumn and now has red berries on it. I have a plant that doesn’t seem to grow very much that now has red leaves that elongated but no berries whereas my neighbor has one that has grown taller and beautiful red berries. The leaves look the same as ours.

    • I’m guessing that the red leafed plant you are describing is Burning Bush (Euonymous alatus), although there are other shrubs with red leaves and berries at this time of the year. In most cases the red berries of burning bush are not a prominent feature.

Leave a Reply

